You can manage or cancel ExpertTrack subscriptions from your Account area. Click on ‘Subscriptions’ to see a list of the courses you have subscribed to.
For more information about ExpertTracks, please see What is an ExpertTrack and how does it work?
In this article we'll answer these questions:
- When does my paid monthly subscription start?
- How do I cancel my subscription?
- What happens to my subscription when I finish the ExpertTrack?
- I've finished but I'm waiting on a peer review. What should I do?
- Can I pause my subscription?
- How can I reactivate my subscription if I've cancelled it?
- What if I need to defer my ExpertTrack?
- If I cancel an ExpertTrack before I finish it, will I keep access/certificates earned on courses that I have completed?
When does my paid monthly subscription start?
Your paid subscription starts when your 7-day free trial period ends. You can find the exact time and date your trial ends in your order confirmation email (titled 'Thanks for subscribing to this ExpertTrack').
Unless you cancel your subscription during the trial period, FutureLearn will take the first payment automatically as soon as your free trial period is over. We’ll take payment monthly thereafter.
How do I cancel my subscription to an ExpertTrack?
You can cancel your subscription at any time from your Account area. If you cancel part of the way through a month, you will retain access until the end of your current subscription period. You will not be charged for the following month. This applies for the free trial period as well.
To cancel the subscription:
Click on your profile picture (or coloured block with your initials in it) on the top right corner of the page, and select Subscriptions.
Click on the pink 'Cancel subscription' button next to the course you want to cancel.
- You will then need to confirm this by clicking the Cancel my subscription button on the following screen.
What happens to my subscription once I finish an ExpertTrack?
Once you have completed the courses and you have earned a certificate on each course within an ExpertTrack, your subscription will automatically cancel. If you have completed the course but are just waiting on an assessment review you can cancel your subscription to prevent being charged again.
I've finished but I'm waiting for a peer review. What should I do?
If you have completed all the courses in your ExpertTrack then we recommend cancelling your subscription to the ExpertTrack via your account area (further instructions available here) while you wait for your peers to complete their reviews.
Even if you cancel your subscription before your assignment is reviewed, you will receive a certificate as long as:
- You score at least 70% on your assignment
- You have completed all other requirements of the course, such as passing any other assessments and reviewing assignments by other learners
- You have met all the other eligibility criteria
Please be aware that if you do not receive a passing grade, you will need to reactivate your subscription in order to resubmit your assignment.
Can I pause my subscription?
If you cancel your subscription you will retain access until the end of your current subscription period. You can then restart your subscription whenever you’re ready, and all your previous progress will have been saved.
How can I reactivate my subscription if I have cancelled it?
When you cancel an ExpertTrack, you’ll keep access to the courses until the end of your current subscription period. You can reactivate your subscription in your Account area by clicking the 'Reactivate subscription' button next to the relevant course. If you need to change your payment details, please read our How to change your Subscriptions payment card article.
What if something happens in my life and I need to defer taking the ExpertTrack?
This depends on the policies of the partner who created the course. Please contact our Community team via our contact form if you are having trouble.
If I cancel an ExpertTrack before I finish it, will I keep access/certificates earned on courses that I have completed?
You will keep access to all the courses on which you’ve earned a Certificate of Achievement.