For basic advice on deleting your account, please see our article on Deleting Your Account
In some circumstances, you might find you can't delete an account via your account area in the way you were expecting. Instead, you might see a notification that says 'Your FutureLearn account can't be deleted right now. Please contact email@example.com for help.'
There are a few reasons this might be happening.
If you have joined an ExpertTrack
If you have an ExpertTrack subscription, you will need to cancel your subscription and wait until your subscription period has finished before you can delete your account.
You can find instructions for cancelling your subscription here: Managing and cancelling your ExpertTrack subscription
Once you have cancelled your subscription, you will not be charged, even if your FutureLearn account is still active.
If you're sure you don't want to continue with your subscription and you would like your account to be deleted before the end of the subscription period, please contact our support team who will arrange this for you.
If you have bought an upgrade
Learners who have purchased an upgrade will not be able to delete their account if they haven't taken tests (if there are any) and earned and received their certificate yet.
If you intend to complete the course and receive your certificate but you're not sure how, please check the advice in our article on How to get a certificate.
If you're sure you don't want to claim your certificate and you would like your account to be deleted, please contact our support team who will delete it for you.
If you have bought Unlimited
Learners who have bought Unlimited will only be able to delete their account after their subscription expires.
If you're sure you don't want to continue using Unlimited and you would like your account to be deleted, please contact our support team who will delete it for you.
If you joined via your University or workplace
Learners who joined via an invitation to FutureLearn have what's known as an organisation membership and will not be able to delete their account themselves. This is for data protection reasons.
If your account is linked to your University or workplace and you're unable to delete it, please contact our support team and they will arrange this for you.